• Follow Us on Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Latest Photos

    photos_6

    photos_10

    photos_3

    condophoto2

    More Photos
  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

I Bought a Playstation 3

You would think that after living in a tiny apartment for 1 year and then traveling around the world with only a backpack that I would have shunned all material things.

You would be wrong.

While I still have zero interest in cars or fancy houses, big stereo systems or giant LCD tvs. I do like a few things.

I miss games. I miss playing soccer on Monday night and I miss playing my playstation. I am not one to buy gadgets but after a couple years without, I am throwing in the towel, acknowledging my geekness and telling the world that I like video games.

OK. So it isn’t a big deal. Lots of adults have video games. But you might be asking why I would buy one now, while on the road.

And that is because I will not be on the road much longer. I am packing it up and heading back to work in just over a week. Some personnel changes and business deals slightly accelerated my return but in the end I’m excited to return home – though I have one more diversion left.

Work is sending me to London for the month of October. We have some work there and it works out well that I go – mostly because I don’t think anybody else wants to go. Honestly, I am sort of split on the issue. London isn’t my favorite city. But on the other hand, our apartment is rented until November first, so where in Seattle would I live? It also means that I will get to see Kelly’s cousin and even Kelly as she will come for a visit.

If you’re wondering about K, she does not have a job so she will continue with the travels. She’s basically going to spend the month of October in Germany seeing various friends from college and then heading to Turkey to meet up with her sister and brother-in-law before we meet up and return to Seattle on Nov 5th.

I’ll write more later about this, but in the meantime I’d like to focus the next posts on where we are now – Spain. Wonderful Spain.

So, if you’ve ever wanted to come to England you can probably swing a cheap deal on an airline fare and you are welcome to stay with me. I don’t know where I’ll be living yet or how much room I’ll have )probably not much) but I’m sure we can figure something out.

3 Responses

  1. Wow. Did that evil Tricia force this upon you?

    If I wasn’t going to Hong Kong in October, I would definitely swing another trip to London. I don’t think I “got it” the last time I went. I’m guessing I missed something, cuz I didn’t really think it was all that swell.

    Anyway, good luck!

  2. David – I feel the same way about London. and it could be worse. I might get stuck in a small cit an hour away….

  3. I unconditionally love my playstation 3. It is an incredible device with so many fantastic games that have come out of late, not to mention that it plays blu-ray. If they keep on releasing good games and adding features like the netflix thing I don’t understand why anybody would want any additional system.

Leave a Reply

