• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

On Tecktonik

So Nath took the time to show me what Tecktonic was all about.  Apparently this dance was really big last year and was supposed to take over Japan, Canada and the U.S.  Well, the last dance craze I’ve heard of was DDR, so my guess is that Tecktonik flopped on its way across the Atlantic.  Still, one year after those crazy moves exploded in France, Nath and I spent quite a bit of time watching how-to videos on YouTube such as this one

Honestly, the videos we watched looked nothing like Nath’s moves at the Fête. And true, we were definitely one year too late into this, but I blame not knowing how to do the Tecktonic  on me not being French and Nath blames it on not having time to watch the Tecktonik tutorials on YouTube.

However, I decided to keep my mouth shut, and we practiced a bit.  She complimented me on my arm-leg coordination.  I watched myself do it in front of the mirror and thought I did pretty good, but upon demonstrating it to Diesel I was told I looked “ridiculous” and to “stop doing it.”  Whatever.

and more here:


One Response

  1. […] The nights are spent equally quietly, sometimes with a game of canasta or with Nath trying to learn how to dance Tecktonik on YouTube (see next post). […]

Leave a Reply

