• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

    photos_6

    photos_10

    photos_3

    condophoto2

    More Photos
  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

And That’s How I Roll, or On Underwear – Part I

To me, the most object able aspect of sharing your sleeping quarters with other people, whether it‘s in a dorm setting or in somebody‘s house, is that it makes it pretty hard to wash my undies every day.

Let‘s face it, when you travel with only four pairs of underwear, it’s in your best interest to wash your underwear every day while taking a shower and letting it air dry it until the next day.  Unlike Diesel, wearing the same pair of underwear, two, three days in a row (even if it’s inside out) is NOT acceptable.  Call me anal, but hey, that’s just how I roll:  with fresh underwear.

And unlike my dad, hanging my  raggedy, stretched out rainbow underwear dripping with water out in the open for the whole (disgusted) world to see is just not cool either.  The worst part about it all is forgetting your moist, albeit freshly washed panties somewhere where a stranger can find it.

This has happened to me multiple times, including the time when my luggage was searched by a Japanese customs office, who–despite my staunch warnings–opened the top compartment of my backpack and pulled a pair of still moist underwear out of it.  Or when my purse was searched by the officer  for liquids at the Narita airport and while going through my purse, he found the extra pair of clean underwear (“clean” being the operative word, though understand why they cringe upon discovering my undies) I intended to change into after showering at the business lounge.

More recently, my underwear got me in trouble while I was couchsurfing in Kyoto with Laura, Heather, Shingo and three other surfers.  A few hours after several people took a shower, I went back to the only bathroom to wash my hands.  To my utter horror, there was my underwear, sitting on top of the washer!  Who was the intrepid housemate that dared touch my undies with his/her bare hands and move it from the doorknob (where I had hung it with the intent of taking it to my room, where I would hang it and spare anybody from this visual offense) to the washer?  That shall remain a mystery.

I may have done lots of nasty things during this trip, but a few  things such as going number 2 on a squatter and wearing the same nasty panties twice in a row are non-negotiable.  I just have to draw the line somewhere in order to keep of that what little is left of my dignity.

5 Responses

  1. Oh man, where do you come up with these topics?! I love it! Did I really just learn that Tim doesn’t change his underwear and you have rainbow panties?! I’m not going to forget this!

    • Well maybe there was a period of time where a spot in the rotation didn’t mean a washing EVERY time. But this changed months ago. I promise!

  2. does the ‘part 1’ imply a part ,two how much more is there about your panties?

  3. Try traveling with baby wipes. Helps you get three or four days out of a good pair of undies!

Leave a Reply

