• Follow Us on Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Out of Control

Diesel says I should post again because our readers like my bitchy posts. And being that I’m pms’ing and my peeps are driving me crazy with their capricious ways, I decided to share with you my latest outburst of frustration.

We arrived in Beijing today and checked into our hotel. We get our card keys, whereupon our room numbers are scribbled: 6411 and 6409.

We get on the elevator. We look for the button for the 6th floor. It is nowhere to be found. In fact, our building only has 4 floors.

WTF?

We try to exit the elevator, but find it impossible because as always, my peeps can’t wait and though they see that we are trying to get off the elevator, they continue to push and shove so they can get on the elevator first. When we finally free ourselves, we ask where our rooms are. The reception guy looks as us and says: “On the 4th floor, of course!”

“Of course”? Again, WTF?

So as it turns out, my peeps have randomly added either a lucky “6” or a lucky “8” in front of ALL the hotel room numbers. Just cuz…they are CHINESE!!!

This “lucky” business is getting out of control, and it’s pissing me off.

Pray for my Dad. Pray for Diesel. They will suffer as my peeps continue unleashing my wrath.

3 Responses

  1. I certainly wouldn’t have figured it out, I’d have been looking for room 411 & 409 on the 6th floor too…
    BTW What are “Peeps” I keep coming across it on various blogs but it’s not a term that’s used here in Tasmania

  2. I figured putting my name as Brother David might provide you some relief as the two of you appear to be venting a little frustration as we the listeners are here. Any chance you two will be somewhere near Kazakhstan in July? Looks like I’m headed that way for work. Look forward to seeing the two of you at the beach in Florida, where we can all enjoy running water, air conditioning, nice beds and showers w/ curtains and for Kelly, yep flusing toliets w/ doors and fans for your benefit.

    Ya’ll take care and we’ll get the girls to give you another shout out soon.

    Love you guys.

  3. I don’t think I will ever visit China! 😉

    Thanks for posting – missed you!

Leave a Reply

