• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

The Big Caravan

It’s a small world, we all know that.  But when you narrow it down to the people that are traveling in what I call the “big caravan,” the world becomes even smaller.

In SE Asia, we kept running into the same people in different countries.  One week you’d be hiking with the Welsh guys in Thailand and a few weeks later, there they were in Laos, drinking beers.  Or you’d be eating at the street market with some Irish people and then realize they are in your  minivan going to the next town in  Laos and after a few weeks randomly see them again at Angkor Wat.  Or the time when I ended up standing in line at the Bali airport right behind the couple that I had met in Thailand.  It happens so often that it’s not even crazy anymore, it’s a fact of traveling.

Anyhow, so while in Malborough (wine country region, renowned for its Sauvignon Blanc wines), Diesel and I actually UPGRADED because it had been raining hard and checked into Watson’s Backpackers, a very comfy hostel run by a friendly elderly couple.  After we brought our stuff in, a few more guests arrived arrived, including a  British girl that looked rather familiar, but whatever, there are plenty of blond Brits, so I didn’t think too much of it.

Later that night, the British girls invited us to go to the local bar, which was kinda surprising because earlier that day they had caught me shamelessly walking into the bathroom with a glossy magazine conspicuously tucked under my arm (hey, when you’re away from home for as long as we have, you just don’t care anymore), so I definitely thought they were grossed out by my lack of subtlety.Anyhow, Diesel, I and the few more people who are in the common area were just too lazy to brave out in the rain and perfectly content with vegging out in front of the TV watching terrible movies like Mamma Mia! and 8 Mile, so we politely declined the invitation.  An hour later, the girls were back because the bar closed after their first drink (they were the only patrons).  The blond Brit sits right across to me, looks me straight in the eye and goes:  “Kanchanaburi, Thailand, bus to the park.”

“What?” I stutter.

And then it all comes back to me: we met these two Brits–Catherine and Zoe–on a local bus to the National Park in Kanchanaburi like 4.5 months ago! I told Catherine she did look familiar and she goes on to say that “yeah, I look a bit different because I put on one stone since then.”  That explained a lot.  Mostly, it explained what the heck a stone is, and since I found out it’s 14 pounds, I tell Diesel that the cupcake top (smaller than a full-on muffin top)  that has mysteriously attached itself to the belly area of my body weighs about 1/3 of a stone.

And there we were, all sitting together and watching reruns of “Friends” (Mr. Watson had a DVD library which was much better than the hostel in Franz Joseph that had VHS TAPES) and eating brownies made from a cake mix.  Awesome!

2 Responses

  1. I’m glad you found time post again, I was missing my fix, and kelly I’ve just seen photos of you is all lycra, you look great!

  2. Yes totally agree Dawniel! Kelly looks as svelt as ever in the very recent photo fo her in lycra! Also, so you have gone from one end of bathroom shyness level to the other, hehe.

Leave a Reply

