• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

    photos_6

    photos_10

    photos_3

    condophoto2

    More Photos
  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Two More Days

We have spent the last four days in Arizona with family, including my brother’s family and my son Andrew. It has been a lot of fun and restful at the same time as we generally spend a lot of time at the house just eating at talking. Tempe has a great rock climbing gym that we always head out to and this was the first time that almost twelve year old Andrew was able to belay my brother and myself. I have to say that I was a bit nervous the entire time I wasw climbing. I know the grigri is almost fail-proof, but I still had visions of falling 25′ and suffering a broken ankle or leg. I shouldn’t have worried though. Andrew did a great job and even caught several falls by my brother and myself. My bigger concern should have been my endurance. After not climbing for a year or so, making it up a 30′ wall was totally exhausting. I still have hopes to do some climbing in Thailand but I’m going to need to work on that if I want to get up anything at all significant.

For the next couple days we are gathering our last few items. Small stuff like a replacement set of headphones, replacement set of reusable bottles, a light colored travel shirt (mine all seem to be black or brown) and then we’ll go through the “necessary – not necessary” game where we go through each piece of gear and debate its merits, finally leaving it behind if it truly isn’t necessary. Example: 5 pairs of underwear. Maybe I can get by with 3… The goal is to get our packs as light as possible and still travel comfortably.

Oh yea, and we don’t want to look like we just stepped out of REI as well, so it has been a challenge to find clothes that have great travel properties but don’t look like travel clothes. I think we’ve been pretty successful. After a lot of time and research, I found a couple great pairs of pants by Patagonia and Prana. Most travel pants look like parachute pants or have a million pockets and stupid logos designating their travelness  plastered all over them. The Patagonia Continental pants are incredibly light-weight and seem like normal brown trousers and the Prana Ranger pants, while still having a touch of cotton are water-resistant.

One Response

  1. Will this be the place you’ll be doing trip updates?

    Laura is coming to Seattle for President’s Day Weekend! We’re going to have so much fun. Maybe you can your world trip back to meet up with us 🙂

    Also, my friend came home from China for Christmas, and the basketball team’s owners told him not to come back, so they’re shipping his stuff back. So, I guess I won’t be going to China this Spring. But, my friends are safe and sound in Hong Kong, so Glenn and I are going to plan a trip when he’s out here in two weeks. Once we have dates, I’ll see if they match up with you guys.

    Have fun. Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

