• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Well allow me to retort!

Well, Kelly is stealing the thunder of my post by writing one of her own right after me and because this stuff is sorted by date. Now maybe I would normally let this go, but she took an hour to write that last post while I sat here watching Pans Labyrinth on a projection screen in the same bar, trying to remember what the hell was going on during this movie (which I really like, btw)

First, I find it amusing that K spells out my 17 year old gospel translator as “Chingy”. Clearly this is because SHANGY was chinese and kelly is connecting that to chink, which i find to be pretty racist, if you ask me. If you’re reading this, Shanhgy, I’m sorry for Kelly’s behavior. I think all those times that she was called a “giant” in China have affected her. 😛

Secondly, I always knew what they were TRYING to sing at gospel. True, I didn’t catch the Obama part (though honestly, I can’t believe how many people are excited by the election results. We are constantly and metaphorically patted on the back with our results. I’m not sure what people think of McCain, but I know what they think of Palin and are amazed and excited we have elected who we have. There is even a new bar in Barcelona names Bar Obama). For some reason, the Spanish can’t pronounce the “u” in Auction or Block. They “eat” it, as Kelly says.

Third, yea, I don’t go to church. Don’t like it. Don’t believe it in. But hey, when in Rome… I feel like that when you are somewhere, you try ad make the best of your situation and have fun. This is a similar situation to the time Kelly and I got stuck in Copenhagen and ended up in a Water Aerobics class at the hotel before finally being kicked out because the next part “would be impossible for us to understand”.

Ah. I’m just pointing fingers at Kelly because our time here has been fun so far and also because I want you to read my post first, then Kelly’s 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Ok, never heard about the Copenhagen water aerobics class!! Trying to conjure a visual of that, combined with one of you two in a Spanish Gospel choir, is just too much. You need a camera person to follow you around while traveling so we can all see video of these things!

  2. Also, love the Samuel L. Jackson quote from Pulp Fiction as your post title ;), even if unintentional.

Leave a Reply

