• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Only in NY (and the Middle/Far East): Eyebrow Threading

After a couple of days sick, I made it out of the apartment to get some fruit and get my eyebrows waxed.  But alas, my 5-dollar waxing place was closed today, so I went across the street to a place that was advertising “waxing” and “threading.”  Since I’ve moved to this city, I’ve wondered what the heck threading was all about, as many salons feature this service.

I was greeted by some Bollywood song that was playing on the TV and noticed the three Indian ladies with long threads (one end in their mouth, mind you), deftly manicuring the eyebrows of three customers.  I stood there, fascinated by this technique.  I decided to give threading a shot.  I told the lady I had never done it, so she was very accommodating of me every time I cringed.

The truth is, threading hurts way less than waxing, as it is supposedly a more natural, less harsh way to get those eyebrows looking good.  I was very happy with the results and would go back.  For a mere 12 bucks I was able to get both my brows and upper lip threaded.  Here’s a clip of this fascinating technique:

2 Responses

  1. My good friend Tina has been getting her’s threaded here in Seattle for the past 15 years. If you are still into it when you come back, I can get the name of her place for you ;).

  2. I’ve been getting my brows and upper lip threaded by an Indian woman on lower Queen Anne for about a year now. She does a great job and I’ve found that the hair grows back slower is more sparse so I don’t have to get it done as often. The only drawback is she’s a very chatty and the salon sometimes looks like it needs a good pressure washing!

Leave a Reply

