• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Yankees X 2

Yesterday, with K still in Seattle, I headed north to Yankee Stadium on a mission to catch a game before the end of the year and before they tear Yankee Stadium down.

I had scoured craigslist for the past two days looking for tickets and calling and emailing maybe a dozen people trying to purchase a ticket for less than $30 to no avail. I was always too late or too cheap to get my hands on tickets to a game some people pay well over $200 to attend (I will say that these NY’ers were almost always nice enough to email or text me back to tell me they were already sold). I decided to try my luck at the stadium.

When I got off the subway the first thing I heard were scalpers asking people to sell them any extra tickets and I though that there was no way I was going to get tickets. Them, as I walked close to Gate 6, I saw people offering tickets…. for $120-$200 a piece. Way out of my league.

So, I took the sharpie out of my bag along with a manilla envelope. I folded the enveloipe in half and made a sign…

“NEED 1 TICKET”

I held up my sign for less than a minute when a family from CT walked over and asked if I wanted to buy an extra one from them for face value: $27. Score! BTW – You can’t bring backpacks into Yankee Stadium so I had to check it across the street for another $5.

The seats were pretty decent, upper tier between home and 3rd base. I left in the 8th innning and watched the next 5 from the Yankee Tavern across the street.

BTW – Yankee Stadium sucks, though not as bad as Shea. It is old, ugly, dirty, tight and has no cup holders. I’m glad I went but I’m also glad they are tearing it down. What a dump.

Today, Seno and I took the free Staten Island ferry to, well, Staten Island. Next to the terminal in Staten Island is the single-A (A) Staten Island Yankees where the tickets are $5-$13, the beers are $5 (even Blue Moon!) and the players are barely out of high-school. It is all good fun as we enjoyed a few hours in the sun before returning to the city. In another sign of my good karma, somebody offered us a free ticket so we only had to buy one $5 ticket to get in and the free ticket even came with a free buffet lunch. Score 2!

Being that I’m not a NY Yankee fan, I’d much rather go see a game at Staten Island then the Yankees at Yankee Stadium.

Leave a Reply

