• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Perfect CC Cookies?

Last week, The New York Times ran an article on the perfect chocolate-chip cookies. It can be found here. It is a brief, but interesting read and after Kelly expressed a desire to have a chocolate cookie, I decided I should try them out. The article talks about three secrets that are…

1. Let the dough rest for 36 hours after mixed. (I didn’t have time for this as I’m going to Seattle today)

2. Use great ingredients, especially great chocoloate of at least 60% cacao. (duh)

3. Sprinkle some sea salt on top of the cookies just before baking.

The last secret could be seen as highly debateable. I like the sea salt there, but some (like KCS) thinks it makes them too salty. Salt should defintely be in the recipe as it should be with almost all desserts, but whether you go as far to sprinkle some on the top is up to you. I think it adds a nice touch.

Because I was leaving, I decided to halve the recipe except I didn’t really have all the ingredients. I went to Whole Foods determined not to spend much money and succeeded even if it did hurt to buy 6 eggs of which 5 I’m pretty sure I’ll never use.

I was still short a 1/4 stick of butter but decided to wing it by cutting out a little flour by eye. I know people say baking is highly scientific and it is. Measurements need to be pretty right on or things don’t turn out quite right, but it isn’t rocket-science either. If you’re close with cookies, you’ll probably still get something pretty tasty.

When I came home, I realized I didn’t have enough chocolate either, having bought just a single 5 oz bar of premium chocolate. So, I went to the freezer to dig out some chocolate pieces from other sources and maybe came up with what seemed enough. I think cut these up into rather large pieces. Too large as it turns out. Oh well, lesson learned.

The end result tasted good right out of the oven but I can tell it was short on butter and had too much of the leavening agents.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

