• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Thanks Fabulous Peeps!

Thank you all for your calls, e-mails, e-cards, blog comments, Facebook messages, etc wishing me a happy bday. I haven’t had a chance to respond to each of you individually, but I shall.

I spent my 31st bday–yes, as Diesel says, I’m OLD–with my parents and Diesel. We went to dinner at a Brazilian restaurant in the Village called CASA. The funny thing is that only a couple of days later, David went there too. It’s unanimous: the food there is awesome!

I’m old, and I don’t get very many presents anyway, but I can always count on Diesel getting me something really fab. From my trip to Barcelona, to my trip to Paris, to my beautiful green iPod mini, I spend a good part of  the days leading up to any meaningful holiday (including my bday) delighting myself in speculating about what Diesel will get me. Because he set the bar so high, anything less than fabulous would be a disgrace and positively spoil my celebration. I, on the other hand, have never really gotten him anything fabulous, so I really have nothing to live up to (Now you know who is the smarter one of the two of us).

After missing my train and getting home not nearly as early as I wanted, I walked into the house a bit defeated. Diesel gave me my b-card, which was very cute, but I could smell the fresh ink on the card, so I knew he had just gotten it from the Duane Reade on the corner. Sensing my disappointment (and the rage that would most certainly ensue), Diesel told me to go ahead and go to my room. And there, I found it. My fabulous present…(suspense music)

A VERY, VERY HAPPY KELLY!

This is a really helpful equation that Diesel has been smart enough to solve. An equation that will guarantee a happy and peaceful marriage. THANK YOU DIESEL!

p.s. Don’t feel sorry for Dies, because he’s also been able to enjoy all of the trips and Wii, etc that he’s got me!

Leave a Reply

