• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Loving It

Sony digital reader

Our new Sony eReader

Last month Diesel and I were really obsessed with getting either a Kindle or the Sony digital reader. We even went to the store and played around with the Sony one. As for the Kindle, I had it in my Amazon cart and was ready to hit the “buy” button before I realized that it was in backorder and who knows when we were going to get it. Looking back, even with an employee discount that would have cost way more than we wanted to pay (of course now that we don’t want it, it is IN STOCK).

Anyhow, this one was FREE! While we were in Seattle, Diesel mentioned he REALLY wanted an eReader. His boss was like: I got one from the leadership conference and don’t want it. Do you want it?

And of course Diesel shamelessly said “yes.”

And now we have it!

4 Responses

  1. Small detail, but I didn’t get it from my boss, rather somebody else on the executive team…

  2. I am SOOOOO jealous (once again). Will you be bringing it to book group? I’d love to know your thoughts on it – pros and cos of a reader vs. a paper book. Does it allow for RSS feeds? So many questions…

  3. Here are my pros and cons:
    Pros… having books feels wasteful. I’m not an enviromentalist by any stretch of the word, but I’ve handed down so many books in my lifetime, I’m pretty sure I could’ve saved a Redwood tree by now had I been reading e-books the whole time.

    I also have the Sony… it’s very light and portable. It takes less than two minutes to download a book to the computer and transfer it to the reader. When I read before bed, I like take off my glasses… I can still see the text, or if I can’t I just enlarge the font. As I get older, this will come in handy.

    Cons… even though it takes little power, the flight attendants don’t get that and force you turn it off. That sucks. I feel uncomfortable leaving it at my towel when I jump in the ocean. While cheaper than brick and mortar books, they still aren’t cheap enough. The selection is there yet… but it’s getting much better.

    Finally, and this key… I love books. I like holding them, and I like the way they smell. I like the covers. Physically, books are wonderful. An e-reader is a machine.

    I’m glad I got one. It’s actually one piece of electronic equipment that hasn’t become ‘junk’ after year. But, reading books is far more aesthetically pleasing.

  4. There is no support for RSS feeds but there is some software that can convert them to PDFs so that the Sony software will import them, but I haven’t gotten that to work. This is unfortunate because I think the ability to read the paper in the morning would be a big selling point, it certainly is for the Kindle.

Leave a Reply

