• Follow Us on Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Latest Photos

    photos_6

    photos_10

    photos_3

    condophoto2

    More Photos
  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

From Internet to Real Life, or Blog-Stalker

Last Wednesday I met up with Molly, aka Restless Reader, and Laura, aka Queen Bee, ringleader of Oh, Bee-have! for dinner at Lan Cafe, a vegetarian/vegan Vietnamese restaurant in the East Village.

Molly is a former co-worker from Seattle, and although I lost touch with her, it’s been good hanging out with her here. Before I even met her again in NY, I started reading her blog via Seno’s blog. Also thanks to Seno, I discovered Laura & Friends’ much worldly and interesting blog. So you can say that I had been admiring Queen Bee (QB) from afar. Seno called me a dork for it, but whatever, he reads random people’s blogs as well. I’m not sure he is as prone to obsession as I am, but that’s besides the point.Meeting with people that you read about more than you personally get together with is is a funny thing, you see. It’s like they already know what you’re going to talk about, but not really. I had read a while back about QB’s promotion, and when I first met her, I pondered whether I should congratulate her, but with Seno’s always “encouraging” words, decided against it for fear of being a blog-stalker. Leaving comments on QB’s site was also out of the question because that is even weirder and creepier.

But then came my most famous post about David Arch-u-leta (intentionally misspelled) and I realized, this MySpace/Facebook generation feels no qualms about leaving comments that are bereft of punctuation or capitalization, murderous of proper grammar, and in many cases, totally incomprehensible, on a blog belonging to a person that they’ve never met and most likely will never meet. Here’s a whole generation that feels entitled to tell everybody in cyberspace what they think with no fear that their 3rd-grade grammar or their immature opinion will make strangers think any less of them. Such audacity made me realize that I too, could do that. And so I shall. Whether I’m a dork or not.


One Response

  1. let’s all stalk each other and make this really meta. then meet at the shack over burgers to discuss. hee hee.

    kelly, i used yelp today to pick out the restaurant where david and i had dinner, all because you turned me on to yelp probably without knowing it, so that makes me just as much of a blogstalker.

    xoxo

    PS it was a really yummy place — just east of hell’s kitchen. maria pia. just outstanding old-school italian.

Leave a Reply

