• Follow Us on Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Weekend Minus Diesel

With Diesel still on his snowboarding trip, I got my last chance to spend some time with friends this week and do whatever I wanted to do. Don’t get me wrong, I miss him, but when he’s not around I get to do stuff that annoys him without being pestered. Things such as sleeping on the futon in the living room after watching Felicity or shopping for hours and only getting two things (a scarf and a shirt at H&M).

On Friday I met up with Rose and Jimmy in Koreatown for dinner. We took a risk by ordering something other than Korean bbq. Nothing we got was what we expected, but the food was pretty good. The two of them had to leave early at around 9, so I decided to walk around 34th Street a little more and found out that the shops are open until 10pm! Only in NY!The next morning I went on a run with Shelley, who very nonchalantly recounted her meeting with Vogue’s editor Anna “Nuclear” Wintour. It was a nice day–even warm, actually–for a run, and we had great time. Afterwards I did the laundry and cleaned the apartment because the in-laws are going to be in town, and my mother in law is very clean.

Then I met with my French tutor (more about this soon) and after making a stop home, I went to them movies with David to watch Run Fat Boy Run, which I thought was better than expected.

Some new food places I tried this weekend:

S’mac – Seno had raved so much about this place that when he suggested we go there for dinner, I got excited. I had to be lame and ordered the standard four cheese mac and cheese but didn’t regret it because it was super yummy.

Ceci-Cela – I had read all sorts of things about this patisserie in Noho, with several people on both Yelp and Chowhound discussing the merits of the shop’s croissants as one of the best in town. I had gone by it several times, but either after a big meal or just in passing, but today, after missing my subway stop (I was absorbed in my latest book club’s book), I found myself literally in front of Ceci-Cela’s door. I was determined to try the croissant and end the croissant debate myself, but upon seeing the little strawberry tart, I just had to order it. It was delicious with a “oh, just perfect” almond crust, and plump strawberries sitting in a delicate custard. I ended up getting another one for Diesel (to go) as well as two croissants for tomorrow (one of them I had to steal a bite of, since it had just come out of the oven). I’ll definitely go back.

Here’s a pic of my tart taken with my cell:

One Response

  1. mmmm, s’mac!!! my favorite. try the cheeseburger next time…or the bacon and gruyere…

Leave a Reply

