• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Asian Woman Tries Her Hand at Making Jewish Food

…and succeeds! According to Diesel, at least. I know, he is my husband, so he’s a bit biased, but he has told me in the past that my food sucked, so I do regard his opinion as honest.

It all started on Sun morning when ailing Diesel entrusted me with two tasks: to get him coffee and to fetch him a lox and cream cheese bagel sandwich from our famous neighborhood Jewish specialty store and renowned establishment, Russ & Daughters.I arrived there at around 10 and the line was pretty long. The people that work there are very nice, although I wish they would trade some friendliness for efficiency, especially when I had a convalescent husband wailing alone at home. Anyhow, in the middle of all those wonderful Jewish delicacies, it occurred to me that the December issue of our Bon Appétit featured a Passover brunch menu that I had bookmarked but not yet tried. The side dish was potato latkes with smoked salmon, crème fraîche and caviar. Seemed tasty and equally simple to make.

Diesel went on his only outing that day and purchased some smoked salmon and crème fraîche at Russ & Daughters. I, in turn, went to my local Asian supermarket and picked up the rest of the ingredients.

The recipe itself was very easy, but the primitive mandolin was not cooperating. Diesel sat next to me separating the shreds that didn’t get shredded properly, but as he was working on the first batch, I was done with the second batch and efficiently separating the shreds from the second batch. I pointed out to him how fast I was, to which he sarcastically congratulated me. I fried the little potato cakes and much to my surprised none of them turned out too misshaped. Diesel was kind enough to finish up the frying, as I had to go meet Tarah and Reg to go to the inaugural day of Coney Island’s amusement park.

The girls all came for pumpkin soup (my own recipe), latkes, and coconut rice pudding.

We then got a drink at the cozy Le Pere Pinard. It was a good night spent with all the girls.

latke

4 Responses

  1. The dinner was amazing K! I just loved that soup (I’m a big soup person as is Nate) and the latkes were perfect as was the rice pudding. And yes, we ate a LOT this past week! Gotta get back on the health train now …;-)

  2. SUCCESS!! Dude, I ate like 10 of those things and K’s salmon!! I think you may have a little Jewish blood in you!

    They were Geschmak (apparently that is yiddish for tasty.)!!

  3. Those yummy latkes and soup (I like soup too..I’m pretty sure Geoff likes soup, all my family LOVES soup..come on, who doesn’t like soup??) put me in a warm and fuzzy food coma. I have to say, your cooking was the best meal we had in NYC. Well, the frozen hot chocolate was quite divine too, but you know that comes straight out of a can.

Leave a Reply

