• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

    photos_6

    photos_10

    photos_3

    condophoto2

    More Photos
  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

New Star Wars = So Bad

I did get released on Saturday morning from the hospital and with friends in town, even made it to dinner that night. We went to Bar 89 in Soho, waited for a couple hours and got served a very mediocre dinner. I guess the martinis I downed the last time I was there made the burgers taste better. Being on Vicodin, I decided martinis this time around might be a bad idea.

After that late night though, I’ve not much been in the mood to go out…or eat, for that matter. Eating kinda hurts. Not bad, but I feel full after like two bites. This is good for the belly, as I can’t workout and my propensity for gaining weight would be high if I had my normal appetite, but bad for my overall happiness. I derive a LOT of happiness from eating. I’m sure this all goes away in a week or so and in the meantime I’ll just work on eating so little that my stomach shrinks and my appetite returns much smaller than normal.

In the meantime, I can catch up on some movies I never saw, like episodes 2 & 3 of Star Wars. I, like every other boy who was 1, 4 and 7 when the first three movies came out, loved them greatly. No, they haven’t aged super well, but I still enjoy watching them.

I saw the first NEW Star Wars in the theater and do remember being let down. Not horribly, “this is the worst movie ever” let down, but let down. I never made it for the next two. So, while I sat alone in the hospital after Kelly had left, I watched the second one.

It was bad. The whole thing looks like a computer game and despite having the beautiful Natalie Portman and Ewan McGregor, this movie could not save itself from horrible dialogue, lack of interesting plot or character development. It took a lot of willpower to fight off the sleep to stay up until the end so at least I could at least cross the whole thing off my list of “movies to see”.

On Sunday night, as the girls went to one of my favorite bar “Le Pere Pinard”, I decided to finish the trilogy. Episode 3 was even worse than all the others. You kinda know how it needs to end and so it feels like they are just going through the motions. Somehow Luke, who only seems a bit misguided in the earlier two episodes, turns into a child killing monster and strangles his wife. All the jedi, who can see the future and glide easily out of danger, see nothing coming and are wiped out in like 30 seconds.

OK. I know I’m sort of geeking out here but you get the idea. It was SO BAD. Why do people want to see another one? Do they just want to see how bad this series can get? It saddens me.

4 Responses

  1. Diesel you and I are even closer now! I had mine taken out in highschool. Did Kelly tell you my story?

  2. She says she doesn’t know your story. TELL!!

  3. You were such a trooper – major props to you!!!

  4. You were such a trooper – major props to you!!!

Leave a Reply

