• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

    photos_6

    photos_10

    photos_3

    condophoto2

    More Photos
  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Loving It…

Them Germans, always so eco-friendly, always so ingenious. Which brings me to my latest purchase that I must share with you guys: the Mini Max Shopper by the German company Reisenthel.

I found these while browsing around bookstores in NY. You can carry these mini ones (it fits in a keychain-size bag) in your purse and just pull them out when you need them!

Since doing study-abroad in Germany, I’ve been using the cloth bags I got there to do my grocery shopping. I had relegated myself to using the ugly ones with pictures of frogs and logos of German supermarket chains. However, these are so stylish and come in different yummy colors and even floral prints.

Seattlelites fare much better than the average American when it comes to environmental consciousness and recycling, so since moving to NY, I’ve been horrified at people’s senseless overuse of plastic bags. On a few occasions, sellers actually defied my request for “no bag, please.”

You can get these Mini Maxi Shopper bags at Sur la Table, eBay, and other retailers online for about $10. I got me an orange one and a green one for my sis.

3 Responses

  1. ha! yesterday i was at trader joe’s and, for the 12th time in a row, realized i had forgotten to bring in my canvas shopping bag. i told brandon they needed to invent one that fit in your purse. thanks for the info!

  2. i saw something at REI, but this pattern is way nicer! i have a bag folded in my work bag for now. but, maybe i will buy few for my friends and family! thanks for the info 🙂

  3. […] it with you.  They boast a slick design, fresh color and are super practical. I had been using the Reisenthels which I was so in love with.  These are even better because 1)  it’s got very long handles, […]

Leave a Reply

