• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Book Club

Back in Seattle, I was part of a 3.5 year-old book club. When I said my goodbyes to the girls, I only left one edict: that they never replace me with another look-alike Asian called Kelsey or any other permutation of my name.

My friend Molly whom I met in Seattle, aka the Restless Reader,(Molly, I’m trying to help you with your shameless self-promotion) invited me to join her book club. This book club is organized through Yelp, so the crowd is pretty random and the number of attendees unpredictable, although there are a few regulars. The reading for this month was The Glass Castle, which I just happened to have read for my last book club. It was a sign that it was meant to be.

The turnout was perfect, with three guys and four girls showing up. The discussion was interesting and the people were diverse and fun. Will definitely come to next month’s meeting.

I was enlightened on the subject of the NY subway system, which I shall blog about more.

3 Responses

  1. How great that you were able to find another club that you like! I love my book club.

  2. ‘The Glass Castle’ was the most recent book I read – loved it, finished it in 2 days…good luck with your New York adventures!

    -Kaia & Sachi’s mom (aka David S.’s sis-in-law from Maui)

  3. Wow, what an honor to get a comment from Kaia’s and now Sachi’s mom! Wish you all the best and congrats on the new baby. I’m sure David will have lots of stories when he comes back.

Leave a Reply

