• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Friday Night and the Russian Mafia

Now that I’m unemployed I very much look forward to the evenings, when I can pretend I’m tired and mingle amongst the hardworking hipsters that frequent the bars and restaurants in the Lower East Side (LES), Soho and surrounding areas. So on Friday night, Diesel’s friend DB invited us out for drinks at this place called Bar 89, famous for its burgers and its amazing bathrooms where the transparent glass doors fog up once in use. I am NOT kidding. This is one of these NY things you hear about. I was going to take pics of it, but I’m not in the habit of taking my camera to the bathroom, as even I have my limits. However, I might start doing it.

Anyhow, the funny thing about the whole thing is that we thought it was only going to be drinks since DB and his friend Sandy were supposed to go to this art show. Little did we know that WE were supposed to go as well, so we ordered our food. Diesel chose the house special, the Burger au Poivre. I wanted something light and got the Greek Salad, which was very good and actually a salad (not meat and cheese with a little bit of greens, as in most places I’ve been to so far).

At around 9ish, we walked over to this artist’s studio. There was a girl at the door with a GUESTLIST and DB said something in Russian to her that prompted her to nod and check off this name on a list full of what I would come to find out was a myriad of Russian names. It didn’t take long to realize that we were at an art show hosted by a Russian artist (which we were told was at the party, but we never actually met) with a very big contingent of Russians. Some of them looked like they were right out of a Rrrrrrussian mafia movie, so I kept my profile low. I ended up talking to this girl who gave me her number, so I might give her a call to hang out and drink some vodka.

We ended up at The Room getting drinks and I fully enjoyed DB (good to see another familiar face in this big, strange city) and his friend Sandy’s company.

By the time we left, Diesel was super drunk, but amazingly made his way home safe and sound. Drunkenness and old age, they say, magnifies one’s vices, so it’s not surprising that in all his drunkenness Diesel became very greedy and decided to make a pit stop at the gyro place. He went home and I could see he had spilled all the veggies and sauce on the floor. When I told him he had to clean it up himself, he stuck his face out of the bathroom to say he would, and I noticed that he had white sauce all over his face. It was obvious he was OBVIOUSLY in no condition to do any of that…

One of the pieces at the art show

One of the pieces at the art show

Sandy and DB

DB and Sandy

Leave a Reply

