• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Why Go?

In October, with K’s contract running down at Microsoft and my work in NY and Europe expanding, we decided to try and negotiate an offer with my employer to move to NYC for a year. After a little back and forth both internally and externally, we were able to pull it off. We’re here in NY now, on day two, and I’ve been thinking we should keep a record of our year here. This blog is that record and I’m hoping that we can keep it a little more up to date than our personal blogs and hopefully a little more focused on NY. I know people move everyday and start new lives in new cities, but I think it is still interesting. What does a newcomer to a city like NY experience and how does/will this change or life moving forward? Or will it?

Why not move? That’s pretty easy: Friends and family (and snowboarding). K has a ton of friends in Seattle and her whole family. My family is spread out all over the country, so that didn’t matter to me, but leaving the friends that I’ve come to have living in Seattle was more concerning. Seattle is probably the first place I’ve lived where I’ve felt like I fit in. Making friends in Seattle is tough and I’ll definitely be staying in touch.

Why go? It was time for a change. As I said before, K’s job was ending and I was looking for something a little different. I really enjoy the people I work with (and will continue to work with as I’m not changing employers), but the idea of working from home, working on a different schedule and exploring a new city was too enticing to stay away. I remember when I first moved into Seattle, having never seen it before. It was totally exciting and while I’ve seen NY before, going through this experience with K should be equally scary and exciting. Also, I’m going to take some technique classes at the French Culinary Institute as well, something I could not do in Seattle. But, we’ll talk more about that later when classes begin.

So, I hope this blog is interesting to you. If not for you, than maybe it’ll be a good record for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

