• Follow Us on Twitter!

  • Latest Photos

    photos_6

    photos_10

    photos_3

    condophoto2

    More Photos
  • Last Books Read

    Born to Run by Christopher McDougall - (K) Humorous and thorough history and science behind ultrarunners and long-distance running
    *****
    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela - (K) An autobiography covering his childhood, years as a freedom fighter and incarceration. Inspiring and informative
    *****
    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón - (K&T) A mystery set in Barcelona involving an old book, a failed writer and murder
    *****
    Lush Life by Richard Price - A Lower East Side tale of cops, drugs and drinking
    ***
    The Chinese by Jesper Becker - (K&T) Modern history of my peeps, from the cultural revolution to the many failed economic and social attempts to move the country forward
    ***
    Setting the Table by Danny Meyer - A "how-to" on hospitality and business acumen by the restaurateur behind such NY institutions as the Shake Shack and Union Square Grill
    ***
    The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama - Obama lays out what is wrong with the current government and how, vaguely, to change it.
    **

Day Two : Spotted Pig

I ran today for the first time in over a month and it sucked. My heart rate was a good 20 bpm higher than usual for my 10min/mile pace and I just wanted to stop 1/2 way through. But I pushed on and after a super tiny breakfast (1/2 a cliff bar) and a small sandwich for lunch, I knew I deserved a bigger and better meal!

I met K back at our new room in the W (they moved us again after I complained about our other room) and we hoped on the 1 train to the West Village. After a short, 8 block walk to Greenwich and 11th, we made our way into The Spotted Pig.

The Spotted Pig is a gastropub partly owned by Mario Batali that received a Michelin star, which was just unheard of for a bar. But whatever you might think of Batali from his cooking show on the Food Network, his restaurants are generally very good, if not amazing. We had a delicious dinner of prosciutto fritters, Jerusalem artichoke salad with goat cheese and a split the Roquefort burger with shoestring fries (which everyone seems to get) with rosemary and garlic.

Yes, that’s right. Kelly now eats pork and red meat! yay! My life will be so much better! Seriously, I don’t know how serious meat eaters like myself can be married to vegetarians. There are so many things that are meant to be shared and the majority of them are meat dishes. I like veggie dishes as much as the next person but I needs me some meat sometimes.

Dessert was a lackluster prune tart. It wasn’t bad, but the old person fruit just isn’t my thing. Sorry. But don’t let that dim your expectations on the pig. It is a great place and you should visit it when you come to NY for a home-brewed ale and a anything on the menu. I’ve had other things and they were all great. It’s a cool little, dingy bar with great food and I hope I find many more like it.

After such a great dinner, we decided to bag our plans for a movie at the theater and just went back to the hotel to watch Superbad. Great movie, if a bit long for what it is.

4 Responses

  1. Hey T & K!!!
    Sounds like NYC is turning out to be classic NYC: Lots of little unexpected hurdles, but loads of excitement and fun! New Yorkers will always happily make room for a couple more on the island, hehe.

    Rebecca, Donovan, Emily, Marissa, Heidi, Phil, Steve, Nate and I all missed you guys this past weekend (and any other Baker peeps who couldn’t make it up). We had a super fun day Friday snowshoeing and skinning up at Damfino Lakes, followed by hot tubbing, tons of amazing leftovers and a mean game of Taboo!!! The Twos won by a landslide: Me, Steve, Marissa and Donovan :-).

    SEATTLE MISSES YOU GUYS!

  2. I’m glad you guys have this blog, it’ll let us read all about your adventures. We miss you guys already!!

    Looking forward to visiting! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  3. Also, welcome back to the meat eaters side K! I myself was a veg-head for almost 9 straight years! Still not a huge meat eater, but I do love Nate’s pan seared halibut in butter, garlic and red-pepper flakes or a fabulous filet mignon — MMMMMMM!

  4. Hi guys!!! Miss you!
    Thought of you yesterday when I saw a little snowy ball thingie yesterday of Seattle (but instead of white snowflakes floating in it, it was some black thing, which I could only guess was rain?). Funny, because it was snowing like crazy outside.
    Thanks for keeping us up to date on your adventures. Like your take on Tía Pol. I should say I went to Txori this past Sunday for a pre-opening mock serving, and the food was amazing! Take care!

Leave a Reply

